Category Archives: Events

Events on Common Core

Urgent Request for Action on Common Core – December 18th and 19th

URGENT REQUEST FOR ACTION


I write you today because your help is needed at this moment to rid Wisconsin of Common Core.  In any issue there are pivotal moments that make all the difference and this is one of them. YOUR HELP WILL MAKE ALL THE DIFFERENCE!

On Thursday, December 19th the Senate Republican Caucus will meet to set priorities for the new year.  We need to make sure that ridding Wisconsin of Common Core is FIRST on that list!

I thank you for your help over the past few months.  Your help making calls to date has done miracles for Wisconsin’s children.  I’m going to ask you to dig deep, say a prayer for strength and then dedicate an hour of your time on Wednesday to call each Republican Senator asking them to stand up for the children of Wisconsin and rid Wisconsin of Common Core.

I’ve attached to the bottom of this letter a list of Senators to call, along with their phone numbers and emails.

  • Please call as many of them as you can on Wednesday December 18th.
  • Continue calling during the morning of Thursday, December 19th, especially prior 10 am when the senators are likely to caucus.
  • Start with your senator if they’re on the list and make sure to mention you’re in their district.
  • Next, proceed down the list from top to bottom.
  • Be kind and courteous as you ask each senator’s office to take a firm and immediate stand against Common Core.

Your message might go something like this:

“I know that you will be meeting this week to set legislative priorities for the coming year.  The recent hearings on Common Core showed that we must repeal Common Core, withdraw from Smarter Balanced Assessments, and protect our children’s privacy without delay.  Please, in caucusing with your colleagues, take a stand for our children and against Common Core by speaking up about this deeply important issue as you set priorities. This issue is a priority for me and will affect how I vote, as well as my willingness to volunteer and make campaign contributions.  Please speak up boldly and make sure ridding Wisconsin of Common Core is a top priority for Senate Republicans in 2014.”

Please also forward this message to your email lists and share on social media so that more people can help in this effort!

Together we will rid Wisconsin of Common Core!

List of Senators to call (please call them in the order listed):

Frank Lasee
Caucus Chairperson
Phone: 608-266-3512
Email: Sen.Lasee@legis.wisconsin.gov

Michael Ellis
President of the Senate
Phone: 608-266-0718
Email: Sen.Ellis@legis.wisconsin.gov

Scott Fitzgerald
Leader
Phone: 608-266-5660
Email: Sen.Fitzgerald@legis.wisconsin.gov

Joseph Leibham
President Pro Tempore
Phone: 608-266-2056
Email: Sen.Leibham@legis.wisconsin.gov

Glenn Grothman
Assistant Leader
Phone: 608-266-7513
Email: Sen.Grothman@legis.wisconsin.gov

Sheila Harsdorf
Caucus Vice Chairperson
Phone: 608-266-7745
Email: Sen.Harsdorf@legis.wisconsin.gov

Robert Cowles
Phone: 608-266-0484
Email: Sen.Cowles@legis.wisconsin.gov

Alberta Darling
Phone: 608-266-5830
Email: Sen.Darling@legis.wisconsin.gov

Paul Farrow
Co-Chair, Committee on Common Core
Phone: 608-266-9174
Email: Sen.Farrow@legis.wisconsin.gov

Richard Gudex
Phone: 608-266-5300
Email: Sen.Gudex@legis.wisconsin.gov

Neal Kedzie
Phone: 608-266-2635
Email: Sen.Kedzie@legis.wisconsin.gov

Mary Lazich
Phone: 608-266-5400
Email: Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov

Terry Moulton
Phone: 608-266-7511
Email: Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov

Luther Olsen
Phone: 608-266-0751
Email: Sen.Olsen@legis.wisconsin.gov

Jerry Petrowski
Phone: 608-266-2502
Email: Sen.Petrowski@legis.wisconsin.gov

Dale Shultz
Phone: 608-266-0703
Email: Sen.Schultz@legis.wisconsin.gov

Thomas Tiffany
Phone: 608-266-2509
Email: Sen.Tiffany@legis.wisconsin.gov

Leah Vukmir
Phone: 608-266-2512
Email: Sen.Vukmir@legis.wisconsin.gov

Join Us! Common Core Conference Calls

Daniel Webster once said: “If truth be not diffused, error will be.”

Common Core State Standards in education have garnered a growing degree of attention from all sides of the educational policy field in the last several months. Wisconsin was one of the first states to adopt this new set of academic standards and is right at the center of this lively debate.

Common Core’s advocates say it raises the educational bar in Wisconsin.  Yet, detractors have indicated that Common Core comes with a number of detrimental trade-offs.

The minds and futures of Wisconsin’s children merit the careful consideration of all angles and facts to determine the truth and the best course of action.

Interested Wisconsinites are invited to join an exclusive 90-minute discussion call that will address Common Core State Standards. Respected educational policy experts from several well-known organizations will be on the phone to present valuable information and respond to your questions.

To facilitate busy schedules, the discussion calls will be held on the following days and times:

  • Tuesday, April 23, 8p CDT
  • Thursday, April 25, Noon CDT

Experts on the call will include:

  • Karen Schroeder: CEO, Advocates for Academic Freedom; board member, Gov. Walker’s Education Communication Board
  • Joy Pullman: education research fellow, The Heartland Institute
  • Neal McCluskey: associate director, Center for Academic Freedom, The Cato Institute

Call in Number: 805-399-1000  Code: 662912

We look forward to having you on one or more of the calls!

Hosted by the Coalition of Leaders for Ensuring Veracity in Educational Reform